14 Steps of Jesus' Final Journey

Stations of the Cross: 14 Stops on the Way of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross, also known as the Way of the Cross, is a devotion in the Catholic faith that commemorates the final hours of Jesus’ life and his journey to the cross. It consists of 14 “stations,” or stops, each of which represents a significant event that took place during Jesus’ final hours.

The Stations of the Cross are typically practiced on Good Friday, but they can also be prayed at other times throughout the year. They offer Catholics an opportunity to meditate on the sufferings and sacrifice of Jesus, and to unite themselves with his Passion.

The 14 stations of the cross are as follows:

  1. Jesus is condemned to death
  2. Jesus carries his cross
  3. Jesus falls for the first time
  4. Jesus meets his mother, Mary
  5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry his cross
  6. Veronica wipes Jesus’ face
  7. Jesus falls for the second time
  8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
  9. Jesus falls for the third time
  10. Jesus is stripped of his garments
  11. Jesus is nailed to the cross
  12. Jesus dies on the cross
  13. Jesus’ body is taken down from the cross
  14. Jesus is laid in the tomb

Each station is typically marked by a small plaque or image that depicts the event in question. As Catholics move from station to station, they may recite a prayer or offer a brief meditation on the event that took place at that station.

The Stations of the Cross offer Catholics an opportunity to reflect on the suffering and sacrifice of Jesus, and to draw closer to him through prayer and meditation. Whether you pray the Stations of the Cross on Good Friday or at other times throughout the year, this devotion can be a powerful way to deepen your relationship with Jesus and grow in your faith.

We highly recommend this Catholic book below that will help your faith. It addresses numerous questions and can be given to friends and family.

The Case for Catholicism - Answers to Classic and Contemporary Protestant Objections

Disclaimer: This post may contain affiliate links, meaning a commission is earned if you decide to make a purchase through our links, at no cost to you. Thank you.

Kindly support CatholicShare.com via PayPal donation.

Select a Donation Option (USD)

Enter Donation Amount (USD)
Scroll to Top