Come Pray the Glorious Mysteries of the Rosary


As a Catholic scholar, I find the Rosary to be a treasure trove of spiritual wealth, one that has been cherished across centuries. It’s a form of prayer that has been encouraged by popes, saints, and countless faithful alike. It’s not just repetitive words; it’s a meditative journey through the life of Jesus and Mary, our Blessed Mother. Today, let’s dive deep into the Glorious Mysteries—one of the four sets of mysteries contemplated during the Rosary.

What Are the Glorious Mysteries?

The Rosary consists of four different sets of mysteries: the Joyful, the Sorrowful, the Glorious, and the Luminous. The Glorious Mysteries are usually prayed on Wednesdays and Sundays. These mysteries focus on the glorious events that occurred after Jesus’ Passion and Death, starting with His Resurrection and ending with Mary’s Coronation as the Queen of Heaven and Earth.

Why Pray the Rosary?

Before discussing the Glorious Mysteries in detail, let’s first understand why the Rosary is a crucial part of Catholic life. The Catechism of the Catholic Church states, “Meditation engages thought, imagination, emotion, and desire. This mobilization of faculties is necessary in order to deepen our convictions of faith, prompt the conversion of our heart, and strengthen our will to follow Christ” (CCC 2708). The Rosary embodies this form of meditation, encouraging us to reflect on significant biblical events. This is not just a Catholic ‘opinion’; it’s a universal teaching of the Church.

The First Glorious Mystery: The Resurrection

Biblical Account and Meaning

The first mystery focuses on the Resurrection of Jesus. As the Gospel of Matthew tells us, “He is not here, for he has been raised just as he said. Come and see the place where he lay” (Matthew 28:6). This event is the cornerstone of Christian faith.

How to Meditate on This Mystery

When praying this mystery, think about the enormity of what the Resurrection means. Death has been conquered, and eternal life is possible for all of us. It’s an invitation to rise from our spiritual ‘deaths’—our sins and shortcomings—and live anew in Christ.

The Second Glorious Mystery: The Ascension

Biblical Account and Meaning

The Ascension is the event where Jesus, 40 days after His Resurrection, ascends to Heaven. As the Acts of the Apostles describes, “He was lifted up, and a cloud took him from their sight” (Acts 1:9). This isn’t just a ‘goodbye scene’; it signifies Jesus taking His seat at the right hand of the Father, signifying His divine authority.

How to Meditate on This Mystery

Reflect on the notion of ‘ascending’ in your life. It’s a call to elevate our hearts and minds, to focus on heavenly things, not just earthly concerns.

The Third Glorious Mystery: The Descent of the Holy Spirit

Biblical Account and Meaning

After Jesus’ Ascension, the Holy Spirit descends upon the apostles during the Feast of Pentecost. Scripture tells us that “tongues as of fire” appeared and enabled them to speak in different languages (Acts 2:3-4).

How to Meditate on This Mystery

Think about the Holy Spirit’s role in your life. Like the apostles, you are called to be courageous and go forth, empowered by the Spirit to spread the Good News.

The Fourth Glorious Mystery: The Assumption of Mary

Biblical Account and Meaning

Though the Assumption of Mary is not explicitly described in the Bible, it is a dogma of the Church, meaning it’s a universal teaching. Mary was assumed body and soul into Heaven. It’s like God saying, “Well done, good and faithful servant” (Matthew 25:21) and granting Mary the ultimate reward.

How to Meditate on This Mystery

Reflect on Mary’s ‘yes’ to God, her obedience and humility. Think about your own journey. Are you saying ‘yes’ to God in your life?

The Fifth Glorious Mystery: The Coronation of Mary

Biblical Account and Meaning

Again, while not explicitly in Scripture, the tradition of the Church holds that Mary is crowned as Queen of Heaven and Earth. This is derived from her being the “woman clothed with the sun” in Revelation 12:1.

How to Meditate on This Mystery

Think about Mary’s queenship, her gentle rule over our hearts. This is not a power grab but a loving governance. She leads us to her Son, the King of Kings.


The Glorious Mysteries are not just events to be recounted; they are realities to be lived. They encapsulate the essence of our Christian hope—resurrection, eternal life, the outpouring of the Holy Spirit, and the eternal reward for faithfulness. So, take up your Rosary beads and dive into this rich prayer, meditating on the Glorious Mysteries. It is a spiritual exercise that can bring about a transformative experience in your faith journey.

🙏 Your PayPal Donation Appreciated

Select a Donation Option (USD)

Enter Donation Amount (USD)


As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Thank you.

Note: While content aims to align with Catholic teachings, any inconsistencies or errors are unintended. For precise understanding, always refer to authoritative sources like the Catechism of the Catholic Church. Always double-check any quotes for word-for-word accuracy with the Bible or the Catechism of the Catholic Church.

Scroll to Top